Decisions, decisions!

I was quite lost trying to decide what my final piece was going to be.  Although I had completed lots of research and experimentation I had yet to tie it together.  However, just when you think you are lost, something falls in your lap by way of inspiration.  This happened to be a book one of my lecturers happened to show me in passing, which was, Drawn to Drawing by John Vernon Lord, which I highly recommend buying.  I loved his style of drawing so much that it just seemed a natural progression to combine all the elements I had experimented with into one drawing.  This was completed in fineliner but I also combined some collage too so that all my work so far tied together.

This was my final piece:  Media: Fine liner and collage Size:  A3

Page

As you see I used elements from previous work and added extra details to link with the poem and the Romany way of life.

Reference:  Drawn to Drawing – John Vernon Lord published by Nobrow Press

Leave a comment